The nurse who broke protocol~

In light of what is happening now…

Back Porch Sheep

And here you will read the true story of a nurse who broke protocol.

I held the bloody hand of an HIV+ patient without gloving.

About three weeks ago.

I was walking down the hallway when I heard yelling.  I hear that a lot, I work in behavioral health.  So I checked what was happening and saw the patient with blood on her clothing and on her hands and I knew she was HIV+ and I didn’t know the source of the blood.  I approached her anyway and got her to sit down with me and then I took her hand.  And none of this happened because I’m a hero nor did it happen because I’m stupid or because I don’t know about precautions.  It happened because I’m a nurse.

Just like the times I’ve peeled off my glove to do a difficult IV start so I could get a…

View original post 633 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

