Throwback Thursday. My life in pictures.

I am not sure where I was all these years. But I think I’ve been here all along. I skimmed through old pictures on my computer today. All nine years worth. The trip to Barcelona. The weight gain – the heaviest I’ve ever been. The weight loss – the skinniest I’ve ever been in my post teenage years – the saddest I’ve ever been. But what jumped out the most, was the happy face that shined through the cracks. The happy moments. The moments of joy, wonder, excitement, adventure, life.  (The happy face that was not happy underneath – the selfies I took to seem happier to myself and to others. They were brief moments. Seconds to pose for a picture.) And in this browsing, I slightly lose myself to the picture. Ah yes, I could tell I was uncomfortable here, a bit overweight, with a developing skin problem, but I look happy and healthy and prettier than I remember feeling in that moment. What was I trying to prove right then? To whom? Why? I was a perfect version of me. I am not sure what exactly happens in the mind, or in the picture, or in the vision of the eye beholding the picture. But something does. Barcelona, Paris, California, Maastricht, Atlanta, Washingon D.C, Florence, Germany, Athens, Paris again, Canary Islands. Isn’t that exciting? Who wouldn’t be excited! Croatia, Rome…… each album I skim through I remember what I felt. I am not sure why life unraveled the way it did, I suppose there was a wiser way to go about it, I could have found other traveling partners. I didn’t. But the journeys and destinations are still something worth talking about, worth mentioning, worth photographing. In pictures, I see what I was, I see what I wanted. It is entrancing. I need more pictures. A few more trips. A photo album. Or two. Or three. More moments I can write about in another 9 years. Life is fascinating and wondrous.

Ballet rehearsal 2003

Ballet rehearsal 2003

 

Heidelberg, Germany May 2007

Heidelberg, Germany May 2007

Canary Islands Sep 2007

Canary Islands Sep 2007

Feb 2008

Barcelona, Spain Feb 2008

Wilhelmstrasse Fest June 2008

Wilhelmstrasse Fest June 2008

Summer 2008

Summer 2008

Sienna, Italy Dec 2009

Sienna, Italy Dec 2009

Rome, Italy June 2010

Rome, Italy June 2010

Dubai March 2010

Dubai March 2011

Wiesbaden Tanzt Germany Sep 2011

Wiesbaden Tanzt Germany Sep 2011

Kevin Costner and band concert Frankfurt Sep 2011

Kevin Costner and band concert Frankfurt Sep 2011

Gym beginnings Oct 2011

Gym beginnings Oct 2011

Summer 2012

Germany Summer 2012

 

Ukraine August 2012

Ukraine August 2012

The Garage Games Feb 2013

The Garage Games Feb 2013

March (?) 2013

Color Run March (?) 2013

April 2013

CF South Atlanta The Open April 2013

CFSA April 2013

CFSA April 2013

Germany visit Sep 2013

Germany visit Sep 2013

April 2014

April 2014

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

